RS485 tool communication with URCap

Hey,

I am using a UR3e robot, and I am trying to communicate through URCaps with my Custom end-effector tool, using RS485. I want to build my own URCaps where I can select different states, which are then sent to my Custom end-effector tool via RS485. Does anyone have a simple example how I could do that? I also tried to work my way through the forum, which gave me new ideas, but now I’m stuck. Excuse me, I’m new to this field, I’d appreciate any help or advice.

I do not use RS485 myself, but I found this URCap example that might be useful to you:

1 Like

If I understand correctly, this is a Python daemon, with which I can then communicate with my custom end-effector tool via URScript (script code?) is that correct? Is there also a way to send individual signals directly to my custom end-effector tool via URCaps?

Yes, this URCap implements a python daemon that has 2 main functions:

• Implements and handles all of the RS485 communication.
  • Creates and runs a parallel process with a XML-RPC server, which is for communicating the daemon with Polyscope.

Then, on the URCap source java files:

• The DaemonInstallation node contribution defines in URScript language the tool_modbus_write, tool_modbus_read and init_tool_modbus functions, which connect and get a response from the Python XML-RPC server in order to read/write on the bus.
  • From Polyscope you only need to call these functions in order to access the bus.

So, if you want to add more functions for your custom tool, you would need to add more services on the daemon server and call those functions from the Daemon node contribution.
For example:

#  ------------------------ modbus_xmlrpc.py ------------------------ 
# -- define new function in the daemon python:
def send_some_signal_to_custom_tool(value_from_polyscope):
  local output = 0
  # -- do some stuff in here
  return value
# -- add new function to server