How to get tcp pose in feature coordinates?

The script command get_actual_tcp_pose() defaults to base feature coordinates. I want to get TCP coordinates inside a plane feature that I have defined (I need the x and y coordinates as offsets for a variable waypoint calculation for movement inside that feature plane). How can I do this using script commands?

Edit: I’d like to provide a bit more detail…I’ve read a few posts and attempted to use pose_trans() but it’s not giving me the results I expect. This is probably basic, but I’m relatively new to this and I can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong.

The description I’ve read of pose_trans() shows me this:

What I want to do is this:

So far I can’t get this to work…any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

I’ve answered my own question. So for anyone else who runs into this,

result=pose_trans(pose_inv(pose2),pose1)
x offset = result[0]
y offset = result[1]

Assuming, of course, that your x and y axes of the feature plane and your tool are pointing the same direction. If not, it should be a simple 2D coordinate transformation if you know the angle of rotation.

3 Likes

@anna

get_actual_tcp_pose() will give you “Base to TCP”
pose_inv( get_actual_tcp_pose() ) will give you “TCP to Base”.
The “pose1” is the vector “Base to Feature”.

pose_trans( "TCP to Base", "Base to Feature" ) will give you “TCP to Feature”.
Hence you might want to call the pose_inv() to get “Feature to TCP”

4 Likes

Just so I understand…

If I want to get position of TCP with respect to a feature, will this work?

I have four variables defined as poses - location_one, location_one_inv, feature_loc, current_to_feature.

I move the arm to set my feature “zero” point. I define the feature and then run a script to get the pose and assign it to the variable feature_loc.

Then to calculate the current position of the arm with respect to my feature:

location_one = get_actual_tcp_pose ( )
location_one_inv = pose_inv (location_one)