Using the robot as a PLC

Hi all,

I’m an intern and soon to be Automation Engineer.
As part of my final semester, I have to do a bigger self chosen project.

I’m contemplating doing a project, where I use the robot as a PLC.
Picture this:

I have 5 push buttons connected as inputs. I also have x amount of outputs.
I would like to be able to control the logics, so for example I press button 1, output 5 goes high.
Simple logics to begin with.

After reading and googling quite a few topics here, I turn to this forum for some guidance.
I’ve thought of making a URCap that can execute the logic behind the scenes, as I wan’t the functionality even if the robot program is stopped (perhaps even if the robot arm is powered off).
Other possible solutions I have stumbled upon are Python scripts run on the Linux kernel itself - but I’m not sure this would work with I/O.

So the question boils down to:
Which - if any - approach would you recommend or propose in order to solve this task?
Python scripts, URCaps, perhaps GUI-programming in Polyscope?

Hope my question was clear.
Any guidance is much appreciated

Best regards,
Mikkel

3 Likes

You could use python script and control the IO over RTDE. There are examples on the support site of using RTDE for control. The arm will need to be powered on but not necessarily initialized as you would need the RTDE server to be streaming and listening for data.