URcap Capabilities Question for Solder Robot

Hi all, our company is internally developing a automated solder robot for electronics assembly that we’ve implemented on our UR5.

As we’re going to be using this process often in our company I wanted to explore creating a URcap that would automate programming the actions involved with soldering a single through hole join on a circuit board.

I think I have a pretty good idea of what I’d like the URcap to do conceptually in terms of pseudocode, but as I am a beginner in the development of URcaps, I’m beginning to wonder if what I’m imagining is going to be possible.

In short, what I would like to present to the end-user is the ability to insert a single program node that the user can interact with and pass properties to (based on the physical characteristics of the solder joint):

• A single Waypoint, (joint location)
  • Solder amount (joint size)
  • Dwell Time (joint size)
  • Clearance Height (local component heights)

Past that, the URcap and URscripts would handle the robot approaching the joint with the soldering iron, extruding, dwelling, and clearing the solder tip to the height specified before moving on the the next program node/solder joint.

I’ve done all of this in practice by hard coding it with program nodes. but it is very tedious to do, and some circuit boards can have 10-20 solder joints!

I’ve attached a pseudocode overview in the form that I know best (Python function with arguments)

SolderJoint(JointLocationPose, ExtrudeAmount, DwellTime, ClearanceHeight):
          Approach_Pose = JointLocationPose - (0, 0, 5mm, 0, 0, 0) //Z-axis being parallel to the axis of the soldering Iron
          Clearance_Pose = Approach_Pose + (0, 0, ClearanceHeight, 0, 0 ,0) //Z-axis being parallel with the Base Z-axis

moveL(Clearance_Pose) //move high above the solder joint
          moveL(Approach_Pose) //move down to just 5mm away from the solder join