URSim + ROS + Unity

I am new to Universal Robots and robotics in general. My background is in software development, not robotics.

I’ve been asked to develop an application to teach students how to program a UR3 in a virtual environment. Similar to the UR Academy courses but with additional ‘real world’ tasks and within a self-contained application.

I am trying to wrap my head around the ROS implementation for UR and if I can leverage the ROS capabilities of the Unity engine to control a virtual representation of a UR3.

Unity has built in ROS capabilities as described here - Robotics simulation in Unity is as easy as 1, 2, 3! | Unity Blog

I’m trying to understand if I can use UR ROS Driver in URSim to communicate with a virtual UR3 in Unity.

I’ve read through the ReadMe in Git for the UR ROS Driver but my lack of knowledge in robotics and UR tools is resulting in an unclear understanding of how all the pieces fit together.

My end goal is have a student program a robot in Polyscope and have it perform the programmed movements in a Unity scene. I thought the ROS implementation of UR might allow for that.

Can anyone point me in the direction of how URSim/Polyscope can send ROS commands?

Appreciate the help and patience.

Andy

If I understand correctly, you want to control the robot completely in polyscope and just visualize the robot in unity?

If that’s correct, you will achieve the full simulation, programming and execution using URSim e.g. inside a VirtualBox.

The ROS driver than would help you visualize the robot inside of ROS. If you don’t want to control it through ROS, you won’t have to use the external_control URCap as described in the driver’s README. Instead, as soon as you start the driver, the robot can be visualized using RViz as the default visualization tool inside of ROS.