OFFLINE SIMULATOR - E-SERIES - UR SIM FOR LINUX 5.11.1 removes all installed files

Hi there,

I am pretty upset and frustrated while I am writing this post now. So, sorry for language mistakes and word choices in advance.

I have been using UR5 and UR5e for a couple of years, mostly using ROS. So I didn’t need a simulator for so long since I had the Gazebo. For the first time I saw that there is an offline simulator option for UR e-series for Linux, I got pretty excited and downloaded following this link: Universal Robots - Offline Simulator - e-Series - UR Sim for Linux 5.11.1

And then I followed as instructed and run the install.sh. Then, the catastrophe started. The install shell started removing pretty much ALL of my packages and software in my PC! I immediately stop the shell and hope to save some but it was already way to late. For comparison, it removed all my ROS installations as well as a few more third party installations on my PC. I have the log file which I goes I cannot attach here but I am very much willing to share with any technical support.

Then I dig into the commands in install.sh file and I was terrified. pkexec bash -c "apt-get -y install lib32gcc1 lib32stdc++6 libc6-i386 $commonDependencies && (echo '$packages' | xargs dpkg -i --force-overwrite)"

This command would remove EVERYTHING without asking to the user, without giving any warning! It simply accepts everything with -y option if the installation requires sudo apt remove --purge application. I honestly believe that if ANYTHING which needs to be removed or version changed, it should be WARNED.

Also, with --force-overwrite is even more dangerous that even though the -y option accepts the installation and remove automatically, by some chance some version mismatches would warn the user at some point. However, with this option, none of the other versions of any packages used by the ursim are allowed to be in your PC. That’s terrifying, honestly.