Change Payload Based on variable and/or Grid Position?

I’m new to robots (2 years) and most of my learning was done via trial and error at the machine. Sorry if this seems basic or I’m wording it wrong. :slight_smile:

I use a grid pattern to load a CNC machine with 140 parts on a table. I use custom fingers and nudge parts into the corner of the grid to make sure it’s positioned correctly to pick up. I use the Direction function with Until Contact

When the arm is extended to the outer edges of the table, the arm swings and shakes a lot more than when it’s closer to the base. Also, and more importantly, the Until Contact seems a lot more prone to stickyness (false positives?) than when it’s close to the base.

Can I use a script to increase / decrease the payload based on it’s position on the grid, so as the arm extends out the payload increases? I’ve noticed the arm shakes less when the payload is heavier, especially when extended out.

I already have a variable that counts parts and use that to change the way I nudge parts against the stop (because I hit singularity while out at the extents). I think I could use that variable to also change the payload but I’m not sure what or how to implement it.

1 Like

Hey Rekd

Welcome to the forum. Nice profile pic :stuck_out_tongue:

Would it be possible for you to post a picture of the application? If we can’t help you with the specific script question, maybe it will be easier to help with a workaround if we see the whole thing.

1 Like

Hi there,

My first concern would be is the robot’s base mount rigid enough? If there is some wobble there (lack of rigidity) then this could be contributing to the problem. My 2nd question would be are you confident the payload and CoG are set properly? A good test is to place robot into freedrive and move the EOAT around. While keeping freedrive pressed, if you release the EOAT does the arm drop or rise on it’s own. If it does then payload and/or CoG is not correct.