Add jtextfields to radiobuttons

hello all,

Sorry for the probably very easy question I’m asking, but I’m new to coding and I can’t figure it out.

I would like to make the following:

Does anyone know if there is an example of a JTextfield in a Jradiobutton?

thanks in advance!

best regards,

Zoë

You can try by setting the label on the button as html.

but, it would be way easier to just create a JradioButton and a separate JTextField object.
so I would just (this is more of a sudo code):

Final= new JPanel();
Final.setLayout(new GridLayout(3,2,1,1));
private JRadioButton button1=new JRadioButton();
button1 =new JRadioButton("button1");
button1.setHorizontalTextPosition(SwingConstants.LEFT);
button1.setSelected(true);

Final.add(button1)
Final.add( new JLabel(" ");
Final.add( new JLabel(" ");
Value = new JTextField();
Value = new JTextField();
Value.setHorizontalAlignment(SwingConstants.LEFT);
final.add(Value);

It looks like you’re asking how to mimic the behavior of the MoveL’s radio buttons regarding Shared Parameters? You are wanting to Enable/Disable a JTextField in response to a radio button press?

If I am understanding your question correctly, then the short answer is no, there is no way to construct a radio button with a JTextField inside it.

However, this is not what is happening here anyway. What’s actually happening is there is a radio button (you may benefit from googling “ButtonGroup” as this is how you can force only one button to be selected) and a JTextField both being placed into another container (likely a “Box.” Google Java Box Layout Manager). These are completely separate components, and are “linked” by simply accessing each other through the “onSelected()” (or similar) callbacks tied to the radio button. Let me show an example.

(There’s a lot of red underlines here because these aren’t real components in my project. Use whatever RadioButton/TextFields you actually have in your code)