Palettizing : modify items coordinates

Hello,
I m working on a palettizing solution with the palettizing pattern of UR and i want to ask the operator the height of the boxes and then change automatically all the Z coordinates of items.

Do u think it’s possible ? If yes can u explain me how can i do it ?

Thanks (be kind, i am a rookie programmer)

simondepogny,
Yes its possible! (However not directly within the palletizing template in the polyscope.

The problem is the palletizing template asks for an object height and will only accept a numeric value when what you want is the variable height input by the operator.

so if you want to continue to use the palletizing template you need to change the way you adjust the height.
Firstly ALWAYS use a Plane feature when palettizing (and generally best practice for every thing).

In the Palletizing window select the feature (Plane) you want to use (We’re going to modify it later)
and set the object height to any number
tick the add action after palletizing
Teach the pattern as normal
In the layers window only have 1 layer

now in the action after palletizing you need to modify the Z value of the Plane feature.
select a script node from the advanced options
in the script code box type Plane_1[2] = Plane_1[2]+ Height # I’m assuming your using mm not inches so remember your input will offset the z in Meters!

now every time the palletizing runs it adds the value of height to the z value of the Plane at the end of each layer

if you want to Zero out the Plane back to default
make another script node and type Plane_1 = Plane_1_const.

hope this helps

Thanks a lot for all this details.

The little problem is that i need to have 2 layers because there are 2 differents pattern, one for first level and another for the second.

So, how can i do it with 2 different pattern on the same pallet ? If it’s possible

Thx

simondepogny,
OK now it starts to get a bit more interesting.