Testing positional variable

Good Afternoon everyone! I’m still new to UR and I’m trying to figure out what I would assume to be an easy issue.

I’m trying to have a digital output turn on if the robot is in a specified location. This will send a signal to the plc to tell it, it’s safe to start the program.
I want it to turn on DO1 when it’s in position “start” and have DO1 turn off while it’s not in position “start”.
I can’t figure out how to do the logic comparison check to turn on DO1

I can’t quite figure out how to test if it’s in the position or not. I’ve tried about as much as I could and can’t get it to work. It gives me a variety of errors.

I don’t have pictures at the moment as I didn’t think about it at the moment.

Any help would be greatly helped!! Thank you all so much in advance!

Sounds like you’re referencing Cubes or Zones as some other robots call them. Basically just an imaginary zone in space, and when the robot’s TCP is inside this imaginary zone, turn on a digital output? Is that correct?

Something like this?

Hey, thank you so much for your response!!

I think the idea of using the TCP could work, my only worry is if the robot pathing moves through that point, it could turn the DO on when I’m not wanting it too. I do like this idea, and I tried it, but again I was worried it could trigger when I’m not wanting it too.

Is there a way to turn on a digital output if the robot is on Home? I created a waypoint “Start” and I want to turn on a digital output when the robot is at the waypoint and waiting for a signal from the plc to start.

Let me know what you think and thank you again for your reply!!

Hmm so maybe I’m still not grasping your desire here. The cubes using the TCP like I mentioned utilized threads and positional monitoring to turn on outputs anywhere in the program, as long as the TCP is in a certain point. This is handy since it uses quite a bit of code and compacts it down to a simple UI.