Reading force from UR10 robot

Hi everyone,

I am currently very new to using the UR10 robot for a school project of mine regarding spot welding and am very lost thus far.
I was wondering if there was a way to write a program with the aim as follows:
- Robot continues to move down until it reaches the welding spot
- Robot then stops when a specific force is reached
- Robot then moves away from said point
I have tried using the if function like this :
if force <= 20, move to waypoint 1
else, wait 2 seconds then move to waypoint 2
However a few problems were faced:
It would skip the force check option and go straight to the else.
Also, would it possible to obtain a force reading of 3.9 to 4.9 newtons? How small of a reading can the UR10 read?

Sorry for the lengthy question as I am still new to the UR10. Thank you!

So I’m doing something similar on a UR5:

I pick up a part, put it over a plate, then bring it down until it touches the plate using the Direction node.
I then go back up 1mm so that it doesn’t drag on the plate, then send it horizontally until it contacts a V block, then release.
I’m using 8N of force as my target - less than that didn’t seem consistent, more than that is more force than I want on my part & tooling. I also tried the Until Contact option, but that didn’t work consistently in this situation.

Here’s the sequence as pulled from the program.txt file (not complete syntax)

zero_ftsensor()
Wait: 0.2
MoveL
Direction: Plane_conv_1 Z- # Move down
Until (force>=8) #touches plate
Until (distance=.025) #limit in case something misses
Popup: Did Not contact stop!
MoveL
backup # relative move up off plate 1mm

zero_ftsensor()
 MoveL
   Direction: Plane_conv_1 Y+  #    Move horizontally towards V block
     Until (force >=8)         #  bumps Into V block (bounces back slightly)
     Until (distance=.05)          # limit in case it misses
       	Popup: Did Not contact stop!