Connecting Raspberry Pi to the UR3e

Hi! I am relatively new to UR3 robots and was wondering how to connect the robot and the Raspberry Pi. I was able to connect the Arduino and the robot using the analog inputs but I want to connect the Raspberry Pi and the robot using digital pins. I want to send the signal from the Pi to the robot. I tried connecting the Raspberry Pi using GPIO and the robot’s digital IO. The Raspberry Pi’s output is not enough to have HIGH input for the robot. Is there any way to connect the Pi to robot’s Digital IO ?

Is it really necessary to connect it to the standard I/O? Raspberry PIs usually come with an Ethernet port.

I would rather use an Enthernet cable and a program using TCP or XML-RPC. These linked examples come with URScript, Python and C++ code.

Thank you so much for your response and suggestions. I see that from those web pages, I can move the robot with Raspberry Pi. I am trying to send any kind of signal from the robot to tell Raspberry pi to start the procedure and a signal from Raspberry Pi to the robot to tell the robot to move in a certain way. At first I was thinking of sending a voltage to Raspberry Pi GPIO and programming Raspberry Pi so that it starts the process as soon as it receives that voltage and when the procedure ends, raspberry pi would send a voltage to the robot that signals it to move in a certain place. Can I do something similar with the ethernet cable?

Hello, I am also connecting the Raspberry Pi to the UR3e Robot through Ethernet connection. Is there any documentation that I can follow to see how to connect it?

@mnsipatel13