Communication to CNC control

I am very new to this and trying to establish communication between our UR10e robot and a FANUC i0 CNC control.
I have connected the robot with the ethernet port in back of the control and seem to have a good connection.
I want to be able to have the robot tell the machine to open auto doors, start the program, open/ close chuck, etc.
Is it possible to send M codes from the robot to the CNC control to achieve this. If so, do I do this through script or some other means?
I have looked extensively online and have not found much on this.

Welcome.

We have two UR10e’s, one with auto doors (similar to your setup) and one without (the robot physically opens and closes the door).

For both of our workcenters we have a single digital Input set that comes from the CNC when machining is done and a single digital output that is sent to the CNC when the robot is done. We also have digital outputs for opening and closing pneumatic vises.

On the setup similar to yours we control the auto-doors via the CNC with M codes (M53 closes, M52 opens) at the beginning and end of the NC program. I imagine you could set up a couple of IOs on the robot to do this though.

To start the process we reset the CNC and put it in Memory mode waiting for cycle-start, then we start the robot which picks up a part, loads it in the vise, closes the vise, checks that it’s loaded correctly, moves clear of the machine, sends a cycle start output, then picks up another part and stages in front of the door.

When the CNC finishes it opens the door then sends a Machining Done input to the robot. The robot waits 4 seconds for the door to open, opens the vise, picks up the part, places a new part, closes the vise, checks that it is loaded correctly, moves clear of the machine and sends the cycle start output.

We use an if-then script to start the robot when machining_done = true.

Hopefully this is enough to get you started.

Thank you for your reply.