Creating a URCap with microscan mv-40 camera

Does anyone have any experience with creating a URCap with microscan mv-40 camera?

The camera comes with 2 versions of software that you are able to use with it, either Visionscape frontrunner or Autovision.

I am trying to create a simple pickup URcap that will detect the object and move right above it and descend downwards, but I am a bit new in developing URCaps and do not know where to start or how the vision software will communicate with the Universal Robot.

Thanks.

Hi @nguyena, are you aware that Microscan already have a URCap that does precisely what you describe? Is there another reason why you’re looking to develop your own?

https://www.universal-robots.com/plus/vision/microscan-guidance/

I can’t seem to find a link to download the URCap but if you contact whoever you bought the camera from they should be able to provide it.

1 Like

Hi @ajp , ya I’ve seen the pre made pick up URCap for the microscan. However, the task I am trying to achieve does not work with this URcap.

Ok, what is it that you are trying to achieve that does not work with the URCap?

Do you have that URCap and the associated documentation? It seems to me that that would be a good place to start. You could create a program with that URCap and then examine the script code that is generated by it to understand how it works.

Their documentation shows how to set up the task with visionscape frontrunner not autovision. The URCap doesn’t need to communicate with the PC software, once you’re done with the PC setup the program is downloaded into the camera and the communication is between the smart camera and UR controller.